Announcing the Finalists for Relay Payments’ Haul of Fame Contest

red semi truck on road trees in background and a blue sky with a few clouds

Relay Payments is excited to announce the 15 remarkable finalists for its second annual Haul of Fame contest. This event celebrates the contributions and inspiring stories of truck drivers in the industry. Public voting is now open at, where you can support these exceptional drivers. In August, the top five drivers with the most votes will move on to be judged by a celebrity panel, and ultimately, two drivers will be named the 2024 Haul of Fame winners.

According to a recent press release, the winners will be awarded a variety of prizes, including an all-expenses-paid trip to the NASCAR Race Weekend in Atlanta from September 6th-8th, just ahead of National Truck Driver Appreciation Week. Relay Payments is also a proud sponsor of NASCAR Cup Series driver William Byron and the No. 24 Hendrick Motorsports team.

This year saw more than 160 professional drivers nominated for their dedication to safety, mentoring others, and exceptional customer service—double the number of nominations from last year. Together, the 15 finalists boast a combined 394 years of driving experience, covering millions of miles and delivering countless goods across the country. It’s worth noting that 80 percent of all goods in the United States are transported by truck drivers at some point. Here are the finalists, along with their years of experience:

  • Cholonda Allen, 5 years
  • David Blankenship, 40 years
  • Bruce Bryant, 38 years
  • Fidel Herrera, 24 years
  • Nic Hurtado, 5 years
  • Deb Labree, 18 years
  • Bobby Land, 34 years
  • Roger Mackbach, 24 years
  • Dario Morton, 24 years
  • Jason Neymeiyer, 20 years
  • Kirk Phillips, 43 years
  • Michael Smith, 35 years
  • Sydney Thomas, 4 years
  • Joe Unverzagt, 30 years
  • Kevin Worley, 50 years

“Our country’s truckers literally drive the American economy every single day. They spend countless hours on the road, away from their families and dealing with traffic, weather, and multiple frustrations. Truck driving is tough work, and we launched the Haul of Fame contest to bring attention to their critical role,” said Relay’s CEO Ryan Droege. “This year’s nominees are all incredible, and the 15 finalists are truly remarkable individuals who deserve recognition.”

Public voting for the 15 finalists is open until July 31st, 2024. After voting closes, the top five finalists will be evaluated by a celebrity judging panel, which includes:

  • Jeff Gordon: Four-time NASCAR Series Cup champion and vice chairman of Hendrick Motorsports.
  • Timothy Dooner: Award-winning podcaster and host of FreightWaves’ WHAT THE TRUCK?!?
  • Clarissa Rankin: Renowned female truck driver, CDL school owner, and TikTok influencer with 1.8 million followers.
  • Ryan Droege: CEO and co-founder of Relay Payments.

The two Haul of Fame winners will enjoy an all-expenses-paid trip for themselves and a guest to the NASCAR Cup Series race at Atlanta Motor Speedway, where they will meet William Byron. They will also be featured on FreightWaves’ WHAT THE TRUCK?!? podcast with Timothy Dooner and receive a $250 fuel voucher.

To vote for your favorite finalists, head to Remember, votes are accepted once per day until July 31st.


Source: The Trucker