New fuel taxes kick in July 1 in a number of states

It looks like some states will start to see some jumps with taxes. Diesel taxes are going to continue to increase and with these specific states these new taxes will fund transportation projects. Transport Topics reported that California, Missouri, Indiana, South Carolina, Virginia, Maryland and Connecticut will have new fuel taxes on July 1.

They also reported that “earlier this year, Colorado lawmakers delayed a 2-cent-per-gallon fee on diesel and gas, postponing it from taking effect July 1 for nine months”. The state treasurer will transfer $47.1 million from the general fund to the state highway fund and $31.4 million from the general fund to the highway users tax fund. This will ensure DOT and local governments can pay for their local transportation projects. Click here to find out what the changes look like in each state.