Senators Markey, Padilla introduce bill to ensure truckers are paid fairly for overtime

Washington, D.C. – Senators Edward J. Markey (D-Mass) and Senator Alex Padilla (D-Calif) have teamed up to introduce new legislation ensuring that tuckers are fairly compensated for working overtime. According to Senator Markey’s website,, “The Guaranteeing Overtime for Truckers Act would repeal the motor carrier provision of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, which excludes many truckers from overtime protections enjoyed by other workers. The bill was introduced to the House by Representative Andy Levin (D-Mich.).

In February 2022 the U.S. Department of Transportation issued a Freight and Logistics Supply Chain Assessment highlighting high turnover rates and compensation issues in the trucking industry. One of their recommendations to Congress is to repeal the motor carrier provision of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938.

The site also shared Senator Markey’s thoughts on the matter, “Truck drivers are the engines of our economy, ensuring that everything from consumer goods to commodities reaches their destination on time,” said Senator Edward J. Markey. “Outdated labor regulations have denied these vital workers overtime, leading to high turnover and supply chain disruptions. Don’t be fooled by the trucking companies’ crocodile tears. There is a simple way to recruit and retain drivers: increase their pay. The Guaranteeing Overtime for Truckers Act does exactly that by eliminating the overtime exemption. I am proud to work alongside Senator Padilla on this legislation and am committed to ensuring that truck drivers receive the respect and rightful pay that they’ve earned.”

It’s no secret that American truckers are at the frontlines of making sure we get our goods and the economy continues to move. “More than 70% of goods across the United States are shipped by truck.” Due to recent supply chain crises and the pandemic, many truckers are working long unpaid hours, which is why this bill is so important.

Additionally, this bill is also supported by Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), and Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.). Click here to read the full bill.